An Original American Oil Company | Since 1926

Motoroyal Oil Company first opened it’s doors in 1926 in Denver, Colorado. Motoroyal Oil Company was incorporated by Fred Stackhouse, Clarence Werthan, and Walter Schlueter. From August of 1926 until July of 1948 the company ran strictly as Motoroyal Oil Company, until in July of 1948 our president Dean M. Gillespie had Cascade Petroleum Company be an assumed name of Motoroyal Oil Company. Cascade Petroleum Company operated as a subsidiary company that manufactured and sold products retail.

On Januray 1, 1950 Royal Oil Company was formed. President Ruth Gillespie Lehman formed subsidiary company Royal Oil Company to process, distribute, and deal petroleum products through wholesale method compared to Cascade’s retail method.

In May of 1951 Motoroyal Oil Company was purchased by the Pate Family of Fort Worth, Texas. In 1954-1955 the corporate headquarters moved to Fort Worth, where they currently reside, while the laboratory and factory remained in Denver. In the early 1970’s all Denver operations closed and had been transferred to Fort Worth, where they currently reside.Today, Royal Oil Company operating as it always has; with honesty and care.

Honoring our history gives us direction and promise as we move into this new era.

Striving to create the perfect lubricant is what keeps us going. The lubricant industry is no different than any other, you get what you pay for. When you purchase Royal Oil Company’s products, look beyond the price of our product and into the savings that our products provide your business by adding life to your equipment. The life that our products add to your equipment sets Royal Oil apart from our competitors, and keeps you satisfied. The life our products add to your equipment translates into quantifiable savings for your business. All you have to do is watch the simple demonstrations to see that our products are truly better than virtually any competitor. Call our headquarters or call your local sales associate to find out more about our products and what they can do for you.




  • Clerence Werthan (Founding- 10/29/1926)
  • Ralph B. Mayo (10/30/1926-1938)
  • Rep. Dean M. Gillespie (1938-1949)
  • Ruth G. Lehman (1949-1952)
  • A.B. Canning (1952-1956)
  • J.C. McCarroll (1956-1960)
  • Aubrey Morgan (1960-1966)
  • Norman Kennedy (1966-1978)
  • Wesley Sears (1978-1983)
  • C. Patrick Pate (1983-1987)
  • Claude Kelley (1987-2003)
  • Jerry Hopkins (2003-2013)
  • Brian Still (2013-Present)

Royal Oil Company Gallery